UrsulaLangley
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I'm currently studying Hamlet for the OCR A level exam, and my feedback for unseen extract essays is very poor. I'm being told it's all there, but its obviously not since I haven't achieved higher than a C! Has anyone got any tips or examples for this sort of essay (the one that worded: Discuss the following passage exploring Shakespeare’s use of language and its dramatic effects (15)).

I will be grateful for any advice.
livvvv99
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
The main assesment objective for this section of the exam is AO2; have you been filling your answers with loads of AO2 terms e.g. metaphor, similie, caesura, adverb? My grades have been increasing ever since I sharpened my focus on language, form and structure. But don't just say a technique Shakespeare has used, explain its effect and why he has chosen to use it. Hope this helped
UrsulaLangley
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
That helps a lot.

I've been taking like an overall effect such as tension and explaining how the language relates to this, I didn't realise we needed to comment upon literary techniques, so I'll attempt that for sure in my next essay.
Faye G
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Make sure to also be mentioning about form, my teacher has gone on constantly about form, for instance, when Claudius is in prayer and Hamlet enters, you can talk about how is silent entry increases tension. I also linked this to how it was performed in Kenneth Brangans version which my teacher said was a good link to use when talking about form, I find that watching versions of Hamlet has definitely helped me not only understand it more but also has allowed me to improve my use of form in part A for the unseen
Tolgash
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Faye G)