Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone!

I am a Year 12 student who is intending to do a Computer Science degree at university. I currently do four A levels, one of which I am considering dropping, the EPQ, as well as an extra GCSE to add to my other ten. My problem is what exactly I want to do in terms of CS (the variety of the courses is seriously difficult when you don't know exactly what you want to do) and where I want to go. I'd entertained the idea of Cambridge, but the entry requirements for that put that considerably out of my range, and I don't even know what I'd want from a university as of right now anyway.

The point of this thread, then, is to ask people about their experiences with CS and university, whether it is having done a course on it, part way through one, applying for CS or anyone else who has a constructive thought to add. I am well aware of the many people who say not to just trust League Tables, and the prestige of certain unis over others (whether you find them founded or unfounded), but I can't consider all of my options objectively if I don't have a full understanding of what those options are, and that's where this thread comes in!

Just as a quick background--
    I have completed 10 GCSEs, with A*s in two, As in five and Bs in the remaining three.
    My A Levels are Physics, Maths, Further Maths (this is the one I am considering dropping, because of its difficulty) and English Language.
    I also am taking the EPQ and Astronomy GCSE as an extracurricular.
    I have some background coding experience, having done GCSE CS (so I have basic knowledge of HTML and a bit of CSS that I'm hoping to improve before September, as well as Visual Basic, which isn't very widely used, but the point still stands) and I am doing another extracurricular where I use a watered down version of C++ to code on a board for electronics.