FourSeasons
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
So I am studying Higher English this year and always struggle with writing my close reading answers. I am not sure how to word them.

Whenever a question comes up about word choice, imagery, sentence structure etc. the only way I start my answers is with 'The writer's use of _____ '

This is the only format I know how to use and it doesn't always work best for every type of question.

Even if you are studying National 5 or Adv Higher, if anyone has any ways to format my answers it would be really helpful!

I'm looking for ideal sentence starters on:
1. Word Choice
2. Imagery
3. Sentence Structure
4. Tone
5. Effective Conclusions/Openings
6. Main Ideas in the text etc.

Thankyou!
scotlandishtube
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by FourSeasons)
So I am studying Higher English this year and always struggle with writing my close reading answers. I am not sure how to word them.

Whenever a question comes up about word choice, imagery, sentence structure etc. the only way I start my answers is with 'The writer's use of _____ '

This is the only format I know how to use and it doesn't always work best for every type of question.

Even if you are studying National 5 or Adv Higher, if anyone has any ways to format my answers it would be really helpful!

I'm looking for ideal sentence starters on:
1. Word Choice
2. Imagery
3. Sentence Structure
4. Tone
5. Effective Conclusions/Openings
6. Main Ideas in the text etc.

Thankyou!

Hi! I am also studying higher english.

My advice for answering questions is that it is not required to word the "intro" to your answer well, you do not get credit / marks for it.

Here are examples of what I do:

"Goddess" - Word Choice - The writers use of goddess suggests ...
"!" - Sentence Structure - The use of an exclamation mark emphasises...
Throughout the paragraph the downcast tone was shown through...