uxa595
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi,

I graduated with a 2.1 in Accounting and Finance from Warwick uni in 2016. I've since been working for a global utilities start-up as a director. I'd now like to go into IBD and I've also applied for MSc programs for Sep 2017. I also completed a risk internship at a large BB whilst at uni.

Any recommendations on how to best break into a FO IBD role?

Summer internships seem to be all filled up by now and I'm not even sure I'd be eligible. Following that, off-cycles and full time roles seem to require experience which I don't have.
gr8wizard10
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
off-cycles don't require significant experience, and that's probably the best route in for you at this stage.
uxa595
Rep:
?
(Original post by gr8wizard10)
off-cycles don't require significant experience, and that's probably the best route in for you at this stage.
Almost every single off-cycle I look at requires 'past experience in corporate finance/M&A etc...'
uxa595
Rep:
?
As a side note, should I only go for target unis for masters programmes or are non targets like Birmingham univeristy ok too?

I've applied for targets but funding will be tough - would be far easier going to a non-target. In that case, would it suffice that i've been to a target at UG?
Commercial Paper
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by uxa595)
As a side note, should I only go for target unis for masters programmes or are non targets like Birmingham univeristy ok too?

I've applied for targets but funding will be tough - would be far easier going to a non-target. In that case, would it suffice that i've been to a target at UG?
Would strongly recommend attending a target uni for MSc. Think it'll be even harder at that level if it isn't a target.

I'd focus on target unis and Summer Analyst / Off-Cycle Programmes. Or go to the Big 4 and complete your ACA.

Posted from TSR Mobile
uxa595
Rep:
?
(Original post by Commercial Paper)