Glamdring5
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I have an offer to study History at Bristol next year, and whilst I loved the city when I visited, the student satisfaction scores as well as several other indicators suggest that it is underperforming. However, this conflicts with my understanding that Bristol is a relatively prestigious university and reasonably well respected.

So is Bristol really that bad for History? Would it be a better idea to go to York or Exeter?

Sources:
https://www.theguardian.com/educatio...le-for-history

https://unistats.direct.gov.uk/Subje...ompare-Courses
MofoJazzo
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I feel compelled to comment on this. I wouldn't claim to speak for everyone in my position, so I hope that I don't offend anyone in writing this.

I am currently studying History at the University of Bristol. When I was applying to study History at university, I knew that the quality of teaching would be important to me. Bristol is a very well respected university and, like you, I had thought that I would find the course stimulating.

I love the city, and I love my friends here, but my time studying History at Bristol has been frustrating and very disappointing.

There have been issues with the quality of the teaching since I arrived in Bristol. I will say here that I have had some teachers at Bristol who have been dedicated and truly inspiring. However, this has not been typical of my experience. Some of my tutors have been completely disengaged, some have been chronically underprepared to teach us, some have offered our classes no direction at all. With so few contact hours, you expect a lot from them, and this can be extremely demoralising.