I want to get an A* in History. How should I structure my revision? Watch

botsimon
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hello, I am currently studying new spec AQA history (year 13) and will be taking my A2 exams in June. I want to get an A* in History. How should I go about structuring my revision/learning to make sure that I get an A*? What did you do in terms of revision in order to get an A*?

Anyone who is on track to get an A*, or anyone who did get an A* in their history exam, how did you structure your revision/learning? Did you do an awful lot of wider reading to get historians' views and such?

I will be grateful for any responses!
mudhunter
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I'm doing AQA history too, so far I've just been making notes on the course and learning them.
Next, we've been told to find a couple of contrasting historians for the key questions (e.g. one who says Stalin succeeded in creating a totalitarian state and one who doesn't) and learn their arguments/ some quotes.
After that, I'll do some past papers and write essay plans for the key topics.

Hope this helps (I'm sitting A2 history this year, predicted A*, got A at AS )
botsimon
Rep:
?
(Original post by mudhunter)
I'm doing AQA history too, so far I've just been making notes on the course and learning them.
Next, we've been told to find a couple of contrasting historians for the key questions (e.g. one who says Stalin succeeded in creating a totalitarian state and one who doesn't) and learn their arguments/ some quotes.
After that, I'll do some past papers and write essay plans for the key topics.

Hope this helps (I'm sitting A2 history this year, predicted A*, got A at AS )
So you just made notes on each of the chapters and made sure that you knew them well, and then found some historians' views on key areas and became familiar with quotes/ideas?
Puffin Boffin
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago