rmayne
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
My goal is to work in a start up at Sillicon Valley. I can't think of a better way of doing that than by acquiring a CS masters from Stanford.

I am a mature student with no A-Levels so my options are to get a degree with Open University or get a access to higher education diploma then go to a regular Uni. I would much prefer the prior as I have a full time job as a front end developer at a start up.

The problem is, this is the closest thing that open uni is offering to a standard computer science course: BSc in Computing & IT combined with Maths.

Here are the module choices for this degree:

http://www.open.ac.uk/courses/qualifications/q67
What do you guys think?

Would american ivy league post grad schools consider this? (assuming I get first class honours)

For reference, having taken these subjects or something very similar, from their college or an external, is required to enter Stanford's MSc program:

CS103 (Logic, Automata and Complexity)
CS109 or STAT116 or CME106 or MS&E220(Probability)
CS161 (Algorithmic Analysis)
CS107 (Computer Organization and Systems)
CS110 (Principles of Computer Systems)
Doones
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by rmayne)
My goal is to work in a start up at Sillicon Valley. I can't think of a better way of doing that than by acquiring a CS masters from Stanford.

I am a mature student with no A-Levels so my options are to get a degree with Open University or get a access to higher education diploma then go to a regular Uni. I would much prefer the prior as I have a full time job as a front end developer at a start up.

The problem is, this is the closest thing that open uni is offering to a standard computer science course: BSc in Computing & IT combined with Maths.

Here are the module choices for this degree:

http://www.open.ac.uk/courses/qualifications/q67
What do you guys think?