The Student Room Group

Really need advice on A2 Chemistry exam in 2 months!

Hi,

So, I'm an A2 student and have an offer for university which means the minimum grade I can get in Chemistry is a B.
In my AS year I consistently got B/C grades. However A2 has been awful and I'm stuck on a E/U. My school didn't submit us onto AS levels and all exams were done internally due to the reforms.

Please can I get advice on whether it's possible to pull up my Alevel in such a short amount of time (with only 2 months left) and also any advice because I feel so lost with how i'm supposed to improve this, as well as not fall behind with my other subjects.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.
Reply 1
bump
Original post by qwertyuiop786
bump

You tried past papers?
Reply 3
Original post by Raizelcadres
You tried past papers?

Yes but perhaps I'm not using them effectively. Ironically I at least get a grade in them but as soon as we have an assessment at school I seriously flop. I'm losing all hope.
Yes but perhaps I'm not using them effectively. Ironically I at least get a grade in them but as soon as we have an assessment at school I seriously flop. I'm losing all hope.

Take things step by step
Start with something you find difficult and leave the easy ones to towards the end.
Do exam questions by topic.
Use youtube if you are confused (tywin lannister and E rintoul are good)
Do past papers and when you do them just write down the topics you struggled with, then revise those topics.
For organic chem use a mind map (i found it useful and easier to remember) with bright colours.
If you ever stress out, stop revision and have a break. Be chilled and keep telling yourself you will improve and when you do you will be motivated,

You can also find some good revision materials on websites like chemguide
Reply 6
Hi,

So, I'm an A2 student and have an offer for university which means the minimum grade I can get in Chemistry is a B.