The Student Room Group

Do extracurriculars matter in med school? Am I wasting my time?

Hi! I am a first year medical student and I recently did some digging up on Foundation Year, and it says that in order to get the preferred placement, extra curriculars don't matter? I have been elected as MUN president and have been actively trying to be involved in many clubs and sports, but now I am doubting whether it is all necessary? Are these things we can put into CVs when applying for jobs or are the only things employers care about the number of publications I have done and number of internships? I know its early for me to think about this but I would much rather know now than worry about it in 5th year!

Thank you for your help! Much appreciated!
They don't matter at all for the foundation programme. I think some training programmes probably have sections on the application forms for extracurricular stuff, but I'm not sure if it would be worth doing just for that purpose.
Original post by Ashfree
Hi! I am a first year medical student and I recently did some digging up on Foundation Year, and it says that in order to get the preferred placement, extra curriculars don't matter? I have been elected as MUN president and have been actively trying to be involved in many clubs and sports, but now I am doubting whether it is all necessary? Are these things we can put into CVs when applying for jobs or are the only things employers care about the number of publications I have done and number of internships? I know its early for me to think about this but I would much rather know now than worry about it in 5th year!

Thank you for your help! Much appreciated!

For foundation, you don't get a CV. You get an electronic form where you need to tick boxes against publications, prizes, etc.