Jojonoodlepunch
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi guys, I'm studying abroad at goldsmiths for a year and trying to not relive freshmen year by living with a bunch of them. What hall will give me the best chance of avoiding that? Is living off campus generally cheaper? I will be 21 when I study there and just want to be around others my age.
colourwheel123
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Hey, what do you mean by a "bunch of them"?
Jojonoodlepunch
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
(Original post by colourwheel123)
Hey, what do you mean by a "bunch of them"?
At my school we have dorms that are known freshmen dorms where everyone who lives there with a few exceptions is a freshmen so I just want to avoid being in like a freshmen party dorm. I just want to be around people who already know each other and are more low key.
abbych
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I'm not at Goldsmiths (yet!) but I'm currently looking at the 2017 accommodation guide. From looking at it I would say avoid Batavia Mews (due to large flat sizes, however it is the cheapest and accepts postgraduates which the majority of the other halls don't, something to consider about the type of people it will attract), Loring Hall (300 students, likely to be loud, next to a pub, popular with freshers). From reading threads on here I would also say avoid Chesterman House (*one person said*) it's known for flat parties, also next to a pub. Surrey House Annexe seems to be a good one for a quieter vibe as there is only 48 rooms (in a previous thread someone mentions the annexe being a quieter option).

Can't really tell you much about student housing since I plan on moving into halls, but I would say check out UoL Student Homes. You would be with other Goldsmiths students and there isn't a private landlord. Not sure whether it would be cheaper.