Rosanna_Jacko
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
My school art department has had a 5-year A*-C grade streak, and I don't think I'll make it to a C. I'm not a bad artist, but I let the coursework get on top of me and it's too late now. But if I fail, I'll feel awful... Does anyone who did art gcse have any recommendations for easy grades- like easy marks, or even a similar experience? Thanks.
dragonkeeper999
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Rosanna_Jacko)
My school art department has had a 5-year A*-C grade streak, and I don't think I'll make it to a C. I'm not a bad artist, but I let the coursework get on top of me and it's too late now. But if I fail, I'll feel awful... Does anyone who did art gcse have any recommendations for easy grades- like easy marks, or even a similar experience? Thanks.
Not sure if it's changed in the last 6 years, but it used to be that the teacher marked most stuff and only a bit was externally moderated - so basically be nice to your teacher

In terms of pulling up your art grades, I managed to get up from being predicted a D at Christmas of year 11 to getting an A in the end, it's definitely possible. I'd say the tip is that it's all in the presentation of your work (I'd recommend putting it all in one of those black A3 sketchbooks you can get from craft stores, with your work on white paper, possibly with a small border), and doing lots of "background research" stuff. Probably depends a bit on your exam board/ school, but I'd recommend (per project):

- 2 artist studies = 4 pages of an A3 sketchbook, just copy a couple of their paintings and write about why you really loved their work. The more random rubbish you write the better