Beccae53
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I'm in yr 11 and am thinking of taking business Studies, English lit and french and/or german.
I was wondering if somebody could explain what I'd do in these, how hard they would be, what the exams are like and how much revison I'd need to do
Thanks
helenhighwater99
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Hi, I am going to be honest.
A- levels are a nightmare.
The new spec is a lot of work.
I am doing english literature, which I am finding it very difficult.
I think the most important thing is organisation, I like to organise it by spec or examination points.
Don't go crazy on notes, and exam structure for essays is key.

Do you know what exam board you would be doing for English literature?

Beccae53
Rep:
?
no not yet but I think of the books I'm studying is tess d'urbervilles. How much revison do you do for it?
niv1234
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Beccae53)
I'm in yr 11 and am thinking of taking business Studies, English lit and french and/or german.
I was wondering if somebody could explain what I'd do in these, how hard they would be, what the exams are like and how much revison I'd need to do
Thanks
I'm doing biology, chemistry, German and Latin in year 12 at the moment. So I an only tell you about the German
A-levels in general are alright I don't think they are as hard as everyone says they are (at least in year 12) but they are definitely harder than GCSEs. I don't think I have too much work compared to other people but it's mentally exhausting having the same subjects every day - I get bored very easily.

In German so far we've watched and analysed a film - das Leben der Anderen and I know we'll be doing the same with a book next year. Other than that we've just been doing the same topics as GCSE like family but in a lot more detail as well as some new ones like currently we're learning about immigration in Germany.
helenhighwater99
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago