The Little Stranger and The Picture Of Dorian Gray. Watch

ors1999
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am currently studying these two novels for one side of my A level English literature course and the two texts are supposedly comparatively compatible. Pretty much I am struggling predominantly with TLS alone, but I am finding comparing the two texts near impossible and I'm panicking about my exam. if anyone has any tips about this novel and how to analyse/ compare to DG please help me!
TSR Jessica
  •  Official Rep
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Sorry you've not had any responses about this. Are you sure you've posted in the right place? Here's a link to our subject forum which should help get you more responses if you post there.

Just quoting in Danny Dorito so she can move the thread if needed :wizard:
Spoiler:
Show
(Original post by Danny Dorito)
x
niamh_finnie
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
duality of characters and differences in setting
niamh_finnie
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
duality of characters: dorian and his painting, appears innocent at first but then his gothic side starts to take over as he sins more. Faraday appears to be helping the family at first but his true motives are to take over hundreds
setting: PDG: upper class london and the more seedier side. TLS: a house which is falling apart, main gothic feature, characters seems normal
the use of light in both novels - when events occur in TLS the house is lit up, like when gillian gets bitten. light gives the false sense of calm and order but really it makes the characters blind to the supernatural. light allows shadows to lurk
SamanthaJMI27
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago