4th A level or EPQ? Watch

jadeee18x
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi everyone,
I would be really grateful for any advice anyone can offer me about this dilemma. I am currently studying 4 subjects Chemistry, Biology, Physics and Maths and am passionate about pursuing medicine. I am not sure whether it would be best to drop one of these next year (probably maths) and undertake an EPQ instead. Do medical schools only care about the 3 grades? Is there much point in me carrying on with 4 if they don't pay attention to the 4th as I could be focusing on 3?
Thank you
greghayes
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by jadeee18x)
Hi everyone,
I would be really grateful for any advice anyone can offer me about this dilemma. I am currently studying 4 subjects Chemistry, Biology, Physics and Maths and am passionate about pursuing medicine. I am not sure whether it would be best to drop one of these next year (probably maths) and undertake an EPQ instead. Do medical schools only care about the 3 grades? Is there much point in me carrying on with 4 if they don't pay attention to the 4th as I could be focusing on 3?
Thank you
I'm telling you only what I know from my 3 friends who applied to medicine.
"H" takes 3 subjects.
"E" takes 3 subjects and an EPQ.
"D" takes 4 subjects.

D was the only one to receive any offers and had 3 of them (the only rejection was Oxford). The other two had one interview each and failed on them.

I'm not at all saying that their subject choices and EPQ have anything to do with it, they may have just had poor applications and interviewed bad.

It's also worth pointing out that H and E were expected to get AAA minimum but D has offers of AAAA so has to work harder.