Travel Expenses – and a few other questions

Watch
WouldLikeToKnow
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I am off to study for a full time Msc this year – I have autism and a physical disability which means that I have problem walking. I am in receipt of the full rate for mobility – although I am awaiting a dreaded PIP assessment at some point. I am a mature student in my 50s if that has any relevance.

I have a few questions, assuming that I would be accepted for the Disabled Students Allowance.

1.) I understand that DSA will pay the difference me using public transport and using my own private car – is that the case? – Should say that I have problems using public transport due to both autism and my mobility.

The question is where from? – From home to the university is around trip of 300 miles and I will have to stay for around 10 weeks at the university periodically over several months. Will they pay the difference between public transport and using my car for these trips from home or will they only look at this for trips between university and where I stay locally for each week I am attending?

2.) I have a NHS diagnosis of Autism – and letters from my consultant regarding my mobility – what I do not have is any evidence of my dyslexia or my other learning difficulties – will my Autism diagnose out trump dyslexia or do I need some supporting evidence of dyslexia – will it bring any extra help?

3.) Would I expect to get help for note taking in lectures, etc?

As you can imagine this is all very daunting as I have never been away on my own, etc.

Thanks in advance
Klix88
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by WouldLikeToKnow)
I have a few questions, assuming that I would be accepted for the Disabled Students Allowance.