Join TSR now and get all your career questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    I am currently in year 11 doing my IGCSEs in just under a months time and I'm not sure exactly what I want to do in the future. For A-levels, I'm taking Maths, Biology and Chemistry. I'm aiming for a mixture of A*s, As and Bs for my IGCSEs. I know I want to go into something science based but I don't really know what I want to do in particular. I was thinking maybe Dentistry/ Medicine but I'm not good with Stress. Any suggestions?

ReputationRep:
    I'm also in Year 11 and have chosen the same A levels as you! I too have been wondering what to do in the future but I don't think there is really any need to decide yet. There are so many science based jobs you won't have a problem finding one that you want to do eventually, especially as there will be lots of time to think about it while you are at university.
    Rather than medicine or dentistry, I was thinking of working at a research facility (don't know anywhere specific); maybe working with microorganisms and looking for cures for diseases. I also think neuroscience would be interesting, or marine biology. However, stress is not a good reason not to choose medicine or dentistry. There are lots of medicine-related jobs that are not stressful, such as working at a GP or any hospital where you diagnose illness. The only stressful job would be a surgeon.
    With biology and chemistry you could do biochemistry. There are some job ideas here. In fact, just search science jobs and there are lots of lists. I don't know why you're asking on TSR.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Exotoxin)