This discussion is closed.
lavack
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Good evening...I am mature student studying the PGDE (FE and Skills) and I am on placement, my degree is an Accounting degree and I have worked in Finance all my life, I decided on a career change and started the PGDE last year...
My uni got me a placement to teach Business Studies when they knew I have an Accounting degree, and believe me Accounting is only part of Business Studies, a small part... and once I realised that I tried to tell them that there is a big difference and I was not comfortable teaching Business Studies as I was not familiar with certain aspects of the curriculum, for example Human Resources, Operations etc but they insist that I carry on with the Business Studies placement, and if I am not comfortable with the topics to read 2 weeks in advance of the students...I have no problem reading in advance but I feel that this lack of subject knowledge has taken a big knock on my confidence, I feel that instead of concentrating on my teaching strategies I am busy trying to understand what I am going to be teaching, has anyone ever had a similar experience?? Planning takes me so long to do as I struggle to know if I am covering enough content, and my mentor (brilliant as she is) doesn't really seem to be helping me out...I am also teaching two other different teachers classes so 3 teachers that have 3 different ways and I have to incorporate everything that they all want into my lessons...
I am feeling overwhelmed and stressed...
I have no time for anything other than lesson plans, resources, university assignments...