My uni offer lettters don't specify that I need maths GCSE?

Watch
ElleW
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
OK, this is my first post so I hope this is the correct way to do it.

So yeah, I'm studying an Access to HE course (humanities) and have offers from Sheffield and SOAS to study Korean and Japanese. I'm also re-taking maths GCSE to get a C because everyone says (and I thought this too) that if you don't have GCSE maths then you'll never get into uni, BUT my offer letters literally don't say anything about the maths, only the grades I need to get in my Access course. Obviously I'm still going to continue with the maths and try to get a C but I'm so terrible at it that there is a possibility that I'll fail again.
So I just want to know, if the maths is that important then why wouldn't the unis mention it at all in the conditions? Does this mean I could possibly still get in even if I fail the maths? Has anyone else been in a situation like this?

Thanks very much to anyone who replies!
Zentox
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by ElleW)

So yeah, I'm studying an Access to HE course (humanities) and have offers from Sheffield and SOAS to study Korean and Japanese. I'm also re-taking maths GCSE to get a C because everyone says (and I thought this too) that if you don't have GCSE maths then you'll never get into uni, BUT my offer letters literally don't say anything about the maths, only the grades I need to get in my Access course. Obviously I'm still going to continue with the maths and try to get a C but I'm so terrible at it that there is a possibility that I'll fail again.
So I just want to know, if the maths is that important then why wouldn't the unis mention it at all in the conditions? Does this mean I could possibly still get in even if I fail the maths? Has anyone else been in a situation like this?

Hi there, I think the best thing to do is call up the uni about this. The only way you'll get a definite answer to this