The Student Room Group

do i stand a chance ?

Hi I am looking at changing my career to follow my true passions in life which is to work with cars. I would really really really love to study Mechanical Engineering (MEng) at Imperial because it is a world class institution to get the best possible training possible and is in a great area of London which is a bonus.

However, i am a little unsure whether i would get in or not as i'm 34. I currently have a well paid job in financial services as an actuary. I am an ex-Imperial graduate with Mathematics with Management (BSc) 2:1 (2005). I did A Levels Mathematics (A), Further Mathematics (A), Physics (A), Chemistry (A) in 2001. I have some relevant engineering work experience (5x 1 week work experience placements) when i was younger at school. I have had to take many professional examinations since leaving university. I would be prepared to revise / relearn A Level Mathematics, A Level Further Mathematics, A Level Physics which obviosuly i would need to be really sharp at..

Would i stand a chance getting into Imperial given i think they have very few (if any?) mature students ? I would like to start in September 2018.

Many Thanks

PS
Forgot to add i have contacted some other universities via email and have had positive responses welcoming me to apply or unconditional offers (although they need me to apply via UCAS) from
Newcastle (Mech Eng) - unconditional offer
Glasgow (Mech Eng) - unconditional offer
Leeds (Automotive Eng) - welcome me to apply
Brunel (Mech Eng) - unconditional offer / welcome me to apply
Oxford Brookes (Motorsport Eng) - welcome me to apply
Loughborough (Mech Eng) - welcome me to apply
What have Imperial said? Surely you have contacted and asked?
Reply 2
Original post by 999tigger
What have Imperial said? Surely you have contacted and asked?

Not asked them / contacted them yet as im bricking it / nervous / working up the courage.
Reply 3
Original post by 161BMW