The Student Room Group

I have no friends/no one likes me

Hi,
I'm a college student living in East London.

Firstly, my problem is that I have no friends. I never had any in school but when I started college I tried making new friends but I couldn't because everybody was reluctant to make friends with me, probably because they already have 100 friends from school.

Secondly, when I try, they just ignore me. funny thing is People who are so socially awkward and cant even speak English properly, and have no common interests have more friends than me. I mean I have such great interests, I'm not boring...I watch football, I play football, I watch films and TV shows, I have played and completed most games I wear mainstream east London clothes, hell, I even talk like most east Londoners as I say things like 'bruv' or 'calm' or 'safe' quite often.

Someone explain what the problem is other than the fact that they already have friends so they don't need me. And when I mean 'friend' I mean someone who actually likes me and hangs out with me and INVITES me to places with them. Not people who you just see in college and say hi to them and that's it.

Also, how am I gonna make friends in the 2nd year, real friends

Scroll to see replies

I think maybe you are coming across as too needy or clingy?
When you mention wearing 'mainstream east london clothes and talking like east londoners'...are you actually from east london as if not that might come across as quite weird.

Do you do any activities outside of education? Like outdoor ones? Usually football is a winner as you need the numbers to make up a team.
Reply 2
Original post by Friffinghell
I think maybe you are coming across as too needy or clingy?
When you mention wearing 'mainstream east london clothes and talking like east londoners'...are you actually from east london as if not that might come across as quite weird.