The Student Room Group

Criminal Law Essay - Acts and Omissions

Hi, this is the first law essay im having to write and I have no idea where to start! The Question is:

'Positive acts should attract more blame and in turn more punishment than Omissions.' Agree or Disagree.

Should i start by defining both 'acts' and 'omissions' in my introduction?What are your views on this topic? Any help would be appreciated! thanks!
Hey I had to write an essay on a similar topic when I studied Criminal Law.

The key to answering this question well is to consider whether its reasonable that omission offences should be criminalised. The idea being, that if I haven't done any positive act which contributes towards committing a criminal offence, I shouldn't be made liable.

I'll get to how to answer the question specifically but first you need to ensure that you have done all the necessary reading. Read all the cases in which a defendant has been held guilty of a criminal offence because of an omission; Fagan v MPC, R v Stone, Dobinson etc. There are also two imporant articles in law journals that will come in very useful in answering this question: one is by Ashworth (in favour of omissions liability) and the other is by Glanville Williams (not in favour of omissions liability). Both of these articles are very readable and make the area very clear and easy to understand - Williams' article is written in response to Ashworth's article, so read the latter first.