Rosac
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
So I've attended I British school for the last 11 years, but live in Spain and have Spanish nationality.

When I sent my application they told me in my offer that I need an "English Language test at Advanced Level".

As a British curriculum student, I completed IGCSE First Language and was awarded a B. The thing is UCL won't accept this because it does not include an oral examination. But I did complete my IGCSE English Second Language where I was awarded an A in Y10 as everyone in my school does.

If they don't accept this examination due to being taken in Y10, I will just find this very unfair, as I have completed all examinations and will have to do another one just to prove my level of English when it is unnecessary.

Has this happened to anyone else?
the_queen
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
[QUOTE=Rosac;71377606]So I've attended I British school for the last 11 years, but live in Spain and have Spanish nationality.

When I sent my application they told me in my offer that I need an "English Language test at Advanced Level".

As a British curriculum student, I completed IGCSE First Language and was awarded a B. The thing is UCL won't accept this because it does not include an oral examination. But I did complete my IGCSE English Second Language where I was awarded an A in Y10 as everyone in my school does.

If they don't accept this examination due to being taken in Y10, I will just find this very unfair, as I have completed all examinations and will have to do another one just to prove my level of English when it is unnecessary.

Has this happened to anyone.

If you do not have oral examination, you have to take IELTS. I didn't check but might be possible that UCL does not accept IGCSE English Second Language as a proof.
Sara..**
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
[QUOTE=the_queen;71422358]
(Original post by Rosac)