volsung92
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi all,

I'm an American student who will be attending a UK University for an MA in Medieval Studies. I've received offers from the 5 schools I applied to...but have no idea what the culture/vibe of each city is like. So, how would you guys describe the following five in terms of friendliness/weather/student life in general? :

Nottingham
York
Leeds
Edinburgh
Glasgow

Any help would be much appreciated!
Voi
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Edinburgh> York > Glasgow > Leeds > Nottingham
Reality Check
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by volsung92)
Hi all,

I'm an American student who will be attending a UK University for an MA in Medieval Studies. I've received offers from the 5 schools I applied to...but have no idea what the culture/vibe of each city is like. So, how would you guys describe the following five in terms of friendliness/weather/student life in general? :

Nottingham
York
Leeds
Edinburgh
Glasgow

Any help would be much appreciated!
As for the weather, it's crap in all of those towns because they're in the North.
Voi
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Nottingham likes to think it is posh with all these East Midlands failing upper middle class fish wives like Anna Soubry, when in fact it is just full of unemployed youths and is cut off from the rest of the UK in terms of rail connections. Full of bigoted English Brexiters with farmer caps and walking sticks who hate outsiders.

York is full of tourists and old people. It has great architecture and is much wealthier than Nottingham. Feels very clean historical and lots in the way of museums and culture. The people are pleasant enough if not a little direct.

Edinburgh is the capital of Scotland so is the wealthiest and most touristy city on your list. It is great architectures, nightlife, castles, and feels very liberal, clean and welcoming. I highly recommend a visit.