chris2791
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
SO long story short had no english teacher throughout the whole of year 11 however i took the initiative and learnt all 3 books and quotes blah blah anyways question is im doing inspector calls and i dont know how to structure my awnsers ie "how does priestly present Gerald as an upper class gentleman"
how would i structure my awnser ?
ST898
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
I am also studying An Inspector Calls we have been taught to structure our answer by first of all describing the character of Gerald Croft. You could do this by using quote to back up your points, and link in how he is therefore presented as an upper class man. For example, Gerald Croft is the son of the wealthy owners of Crofts Ltd. Coming from a wealthy family Gerald is present as socially superior to the Birlings, in particular Mr Birling as he has built his company and wealth rather than inheriting his money. You could then go on to describe other circumstances where he is presented as an upper class gentleman, e.g. at the Palace Bar, and his connections with Eva Smith. Once you have made enough relevant points I would finish with a short conclusion to sum up his entire role in the play, his involvement with Eva and how his social status links in with this. For example, Being of a higher class, although Gerald treated Eva with respect after the summer was over, he left her and broke her heart. Gerald was the leader in this relationship and discarded her because she was of a lower class and it was time for him to get back to reality, however her life with Gerald was her sole reality. Hope this helped!
chris2791
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
(Original post by st898)