Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    long story short - i've always dreamed about getting accepted by the MSc in International relations at lse.. I'd be an international applicant and currently study at the University of Toronto - (arguably) the toughest school in Canada, where I'm doing a BA in IR. My GPA is a 3.6, which is above min requirements for Canadians (3.3). also if i keep up my grades, i'll graduate with high distinction (basically very few people at u of t get a 3.3, let alone 3.5+, which is roughly top 10-15 percent of all students and is considered equivalent to a very strong 2.1). i also did a year out at UCL, got firsts in my two IR modules and high 2:1's for most of my other classes (with the exception of one module, where i got a 2:2 due to medical issues)

other than that, i have some work experience - i.e. i worked for the government, was a research assistant for an IR prof, and hope to get another internship soon. i also have stelllar extra-curricular activities - i help run an IR under grad journal, am involved with the course union at an executive level, etc.

For those of you who dealt with the LSE application process (or i guess grad applications at top UK unis generally) I just had a few questions based on the info i gave:

1) in the CVs you submitted to schools, did you exclude non-work experience (i.e. extra-curriculars)? I've noticed LSE stresses mentioning work experience if you have any, but I'm also particularly of my involvement at uni mentioned above and it'd be a shame if i couldn't mention it as well

2) how much does work experience really matter, especially at lse? i know i have some work experience, but i know other applicants will probably have a lot more and i worry i'm at a disadvantage

3) does LSE factor in your undergraduate institution at all during admission cycles? as i mentioned, my school is known for extremely tough marking
    • TSR Support Team