Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Question about moving from Netherlands to UK

ReputationRep:
    Hello,
    I am a first year student in the Netherlands, however I plan to move to the UK, after I finish my first year as I don't like what I am studying here and for a lot of other reasons. However, I would like to ask if I would be eligible for a student loan as someone told me that if I was in University before I can't apply for a student loan again? Is this true and what should I do?

Thank you, best regards!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ripton)
    Hello,
    I am a first year student in the Netherlands, however I plan to move to the UK, after I finish my first year as I don't like what I am studying here and for a lot of other reasons. However, I would like to ask if I would be eligible for a student loan as someone told me that if I was in University before I can't apply for a student loan again? Is this true and what should I do?

Thank you, best regards!
    No that's not true.

Students do have a limited entitlement to Student Finance, but you still have enough remaining to get the Tuition Fee Loan for the entirety of a new degree. The calculation is:

Number of years of your new degree (minus) Number of years you've previously spent at uni (plus) One year = Remaining years of SF entitlement

If you start a new three year degree in the U.K., this gives you 3-1+1=3 years of remaining entitlement.

As I'm sure you are already aware, you would not qualify for a Maintenance Loan unless you live in the U.K. for five full years before your degree starts.

ReputationRep:
    Ahh oh, that makes sense. Thank you. Just to be clear, this is what the University website says:

"As long as you have not been to University before and meet the residency rules both full and part-time students are eligible to apply for tuition fee loans."