Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Medicine at Oxford Watch

University Navigation

ReputationRep:
    I'm a prospective medical student, and am currently strongly considering applying to Oxford to study Medicine. However, I have a few misgivings, and would like some opinions from other peoples' experiences. My main concerns are these:

That the medical course does not include practical lessons at the beginning - is it not frustrating to not be able to experience patient contact?

The social life on Campus (I believe this is a concern of many people, simply because of the prestigious reputation)

The cost of living and the pressures placed on grades by being surrounded with highly academic students.

ReputationRep:
    Hi.

I graduated from the course two years ago.

1) This is true and a potential source of frustration. Not so much early on when you're being hit with loads of new stimuli anyway (labs, dissection, tutorials, the whole university experience...) but later on in second and third year yes. However, I have two things for you to consider:
    a) most people who choose to go to Oxford specifically don't want early patient contact. This is because they (and I) felt that being put in front of a patient and asked to take a history when you haven't even learned any medicine yet sounded pointless and potentially just embarrassing. Most Oxford students want a more gradual transition from school - from learning science to learning medicine to practising medicine, rather than just being chucked in the deep end unprepared.