Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Applying after A Level results (taking a gap year) Watch

University Navigation

ReputationRep:
    Hello!
    I am a prospective student for UCL currently in Year 12. The course I am really interested in at UCL is History of Art which has the entry requirements of ABB-AAA, furthermore it is expected that you have a pass in a foreign language GCSE. During secondary school I did not take a language at GCSE level and unfortunately due to circumstances will not be predicted within the entrance requirements. However, I have my heart set on the UCL course and now know I will do anything to get there. Therefore I aim to reach the requirements and make my application as strong as possible. My question is would I be able to apply after my A level results in 2018 for the 2019 undergraduate course, after a gap year working productively in Museums in Italy and then taking a french GCSE privately. Rather than applying this year and deferring for the gap year as many do.

Many thanks,

Pip50

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Pip50)
    Hello!
    I am a prospective student for UCL currently in Year 12. The course I am really interested in at UCL is History of Art which has the entry requirements of ABB-AAA, furthermore it is expected that you have a pass in a foreign language GCSE. During secondary school I did not take a language at GCSE level and unfortunately due to circumstances will not be predicted within the entrance requirements. However, I have my heart set on the UCL course and now know I will do anything to get there. Therefore I aim to reach the requirements and make my application as strong as possible. My question is would I be able to apply after my A level results in 2018 for the 2019 undergraduate course, after a gap year working productively in Museums in Italy and then taking a french GCSE privately. Rather than applying this year and deferring for the gap year as many do.