rachelzane2
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I am looking to study Law at university, and aspire to work at a Magic Circle firm.
I know this is extremely competitive and I am one of the many people etc.

But I wanted to know which universities I should consider applying to?

Also could anyone give me advice in terms of how best to prepare myself in gaining a place at a Magic Circle firm after graduation? I am currently studying for my A-levels but I want to start preparing now. For example extra-curricular activities that would be useful or any particular experience.

Thank you
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 4 years ago
Oxbridge
rachelzane2
Rep:
?
(Original post by J-SP)
Really doesn't matter what the extra curriculars are - it's more about showing commitment, keeping busy, team work, liking responsibility, going out of your comfort zone.

Oxford or Cambridge are the most represented universities in MC firms. But the worst thing you could do is choose a university purely on the jobs prospects it may give. Although MC firms recruit more Oxbridge applicants, they also reject more. Pick a highly reputable university that works for you, because getting good grades and building up your CV will do far more than the institution on your degree certificate.

Posted from TSR Mobile
I see. So extra-curriculars are important but there is nothing specific they like or favour.

I think when I start university this would be easier with so many societies and volunteering opportunities available. But I wanted to start this now as it will give me a head-start and also provide me with things to mention in my PS and interviews.

Is it true that you just need to know the right people in order to get into an MC firm :/
rachelzane2
Rep:
?
(Original post by J-SP)
It's about your personal impact/development in extra curriculars, not actually what they are.

Definitely so things at college/sixth form too.