The Student Room Group
St Salvators Quad, University of St Andrews
University of St Andrews

How hard is it actually to get into St Andrews?

Deleted.
(edited 6 years ago)
Original post by catmckie
I'm asking because I hear that it's crazy hard to get into but to be perfectly honest the grades they ask for (at least for the course I'd want to do anyway) are perfectly reasonable I think. (AAAB - SQA Highers)
So is there something they're not telling me? Do they only accept Head Boys and Head Girls or people who've won awards or people like that?
If there are any St. Andrews students reading this I'd greatly appreciate it if you could tell me your thoughts on St. Andrews being 'really tough to get into' and (if you want to) could you tell me what your grades were and how much extra-curricular sort of stuff you did?
Even if you're not a student there, any input would really help.
Thanks in advance!

Hey, I'm a current student at St Andrews and I think it really depends on several factors such as:

1) On the competitiveness of the course you apply for

So, obviously if you apply for a less competitive course like Art History or Geography, your likelihood of getting an offer is higher than if you apply for International Relations at St Andrews. They may all have similar entry requirements, but the number of applicants means that the university will be able to choose to give offers to students who have achieved grades higher than their published entry requirements. Here are the admissions statistics for Scottish/EU applicants for 2012 entry - mind you though this was 5 years ago, and I believe that the offer rate is higher now.

2) On your fee status