The Student Room Group

What about Critical Thinking...

What does everyone think about Critical Thinking easy/hard/pointless?

I got AAAA for AS and an A in General Studies Unit 1 (so I might do a whole A Level for GS) I was also offered to do Critical Thinking too just as an extra AS, just wondering if it was worth it.

PS. I also intend to apply to Cambridge to study Economics and heard it was "helpful" as it is quite diverse... any truth in that?

~N~
From what our admissions tutors at 6th form say, it is good for diversity and gives a good indication to whether you're a good "all rounder"

Seemed to work for me, I'm a straight A student and got 236/300 (a B) with 30 hours of lessons in 4 months (only went to about 15 as the lessons are so boring!) It does show natural ability very well :smile:
Reply 2
Thanks, I have had a couple of classes to show me what it was like and I thought it seemed quite interesting, especially as Unit 1 seems pretty easy (all about the multiple choice :smile:)

~N~
Savage Noodles

Seemed to work for me, I'm a straight A student and got 236/300 (a B)

:eek: That's exactly the same as me :eek:

I happen to believe it's the best subject ever - the only interesting one I've ever studied. And I only had 9 hours of studying it, so there :tongue:
Reply 4
Can you do a whole A2 of Critical Thinking or is it just an AS?

~N~
Reply 5
As far as i know, there is only an AS component of the Critical Thinking
Critical Thinking is great. It does give a good indication of how naturally intelligent you are. It is far better than general studies that's for sure!
Reply 7
Critical Thinking is a brilliant AS level to have. It's incredibly interesting, doesn't really require much preparation, and is definitely much more respectable than GS. Take it...it's a great qualification on your UCAS form.

G
I'm taking the exam for it in November!
Reply 9
I took it last year with no teaching and no reading - just for fun. And I got 190/300 - That's a low C/D.