Differences between new and old spec OCR Physics A.

Watch
no-chains
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I'm studying the new spec H556. As theres not many past papers I have to do the past papers from the old spec G484. I know that there are slight differences between the two. Does anybody know what is not included in G484 that I will need to know for H556? Thanks.
physion
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Does anybody know what are the differences between old and new specs in CIE IAL Physics. Also, what about the differences between old and new specs in Edexcel IAL Physics? Thank you!!
suhaylpatel786
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by no-chains)
I'm studying the new spec H556. As theres not many past papers I have to do the past papers from the old spec G484. I know that there are slight differences between the two. Does anybody know what is not included in G484 that I will need to know for H556? Thanks.
Hi there, as you said there's not many past paper's for the new spec, but there are 3 sets of specimen papers and more practice papers that your college may purchase.

I'm guessing you are an AS student moving to A2. I'd suggest at the moment work on question by topic packs, like those found on the Cowen Physics website. Do the topic packs for each chapter in your A2 book. These topic packs are made from the old spec papers. Doing these will prepare you to do papers later on.

Your textbooks and the cgp revision guide whichever I recommend using both, is split into two, one half for paper 1 and the other for paper 2.

After completing paper 1 content and the topic packs from Cowen physics and possibly also from Physics and Maths tutor for this half, you can start G484 papers. Ideally, since those papers were shorter than the new ones. I'd suggest joining G481 and G484 together and do that as one paper and timed.