The Student Room Group

Teacher marking you down even via Turnitin?

Even when i submit my essay anonymously (no name) via Turnitin, I'm worried the marker knows who I am because they might be able to see my student number... and all they need to do is memorise my student number to mark me down, or just look it up on the university database to match it with my name...

is this possible?
It's possible. Against the uni rules obvs but unless you've been a right dickhead you have nothing to worry about :h:
I've come up against this myself. My Student ID is the only one in my university which starts with a specific number as I was a student there in 1998. I wasn't happy about it and asked the university to change my number but they refused. I'm fully aware that all my lecturers recognize my student ID.
Original post by Voi
Even when i submit my essay anonymously (no name) via Turnitin, I'm worried the marker knows who I am because they might be able to see my student number... and all they need to do is memorise my student number to mark me down, or just look it up on the university database to match it with my name...

is this possible?

Why would they want to memorize your ID?
Reply 4
Original post by Seamus123
Why would they want to memorize your ID?

To mark me down of course? :s-smilie:

I feel like before you even start, lecturers automatically know who will get a 1st or 2.1... they can we judge how you loook, and if you fit in, the way you talk, and your personality etc...

I feel like they prioritise ethnic minorities and those with disabilities ... no matter if their work isn't that good..

Maybe I'm being paranoid?

Ugh... I just feel like no matter how hard I try they will always mark me down just by account of who I am. - like they're always limiting you ...

Can anyone relate to this?
(edited 6 years ago)
Original post by Voi