Is F2 easier than F3 in Edexcel IAL, or is it the other way round?

Watch
Franklin123
Badges: 11
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I am going to take either F2 or F3, and I have been wondering which unit would be more suitable. I have no knowledge of both units and I would liketo know your opinion on each one.
python03
Badges: 12
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 4 years ago
Further Pure 2:
- differential equations
- inequalities
- method of differences
- polar equations
- de Moivre thm

Further Pure 3:
- vectors
- matrices
- hyperbolic trig (sinh/cosh/tanh)
- reductive formulae (not sure about the name)
- ellipses, hyperbolas, parabolas and shapes like that

I'm taking both and my opinion is that both similarly difficult (despite the common belief that FP3 is harder)
Justification:
they both cover a wide wide range of topics
these topics are difficult in their own way - FP2 and FP3 syllabus does not overlap

Verdict:
if you want to deal with matrices/vectors, go for FP3
if you want to deal with differential equations/complex numbers, go for FP2
Franklin123
Rep:
(Original post by leekn)
Further Pure 2:
- differential equations
- inequalities
- method of differences
- polar equations
- de Moivre thm

Further Pure 3:
- vectors
- matrices
- hyperbolic trig (sinh/cosh/tanh)
- reductive formulae (not sure about the name)
- ellipses, hyperbolas, parabolas and shapes like that

I'm taking both and my opinion is that both similarly difficult (despite the common belief that FP3 is harder)
Justification:
they both cover a wide wide range of topics
these topics are difficult in their own way - FP2 and FP3 syllabus does not overlap

Verdict:
if you want to deal with matrices/vectors, go for FP3