Am I entitled to free university in Scotland? Watch

kaitroxxx
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm a GCSE student legally classed as an English citizen ( being born there and living there for the last 15 years). I am currently 15 and will be siting my GCSEs next May (2018) . My mother is Scottish and my dad is English. We are considering me moving out on my own to Scotland, once I have sat my exams as I will be 16. At this point I would continue education in Scotland during my ( a-level / "college years") . Would I be entitled to free university in Scotland and if so what would the terms be ?
pereira325
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
http://www.housepricecrash.co.uk/for...niversity-edu/
"To get a free Scottish university place you have to be Scottish or from an EU country outside of the UK, i.e. it's free if you're from Germany, but charged if you're from England or the USA (for example)."
"You need to live in Scotland for three years, after which you are sufficiently a resident to get free tuition anywhere in Britain, on account of being domiciled in Scotland."
Edinburgh uni:http://www.ed.ac.uk/studying/undergr...nce/fee-status
"Students who normally live in England, Wales and Northern Ireland will have a fee status of Home-RUK."

Students who normally live in Scotland will have a fee status of Home-Scotland.
If you are in any doubt regarding your eligibility for support, please contact the Student Awards Agency Scotland (SAAS).

Student Awards Agency Scotland

Moving to Scotland for only 2 years before uni (after your gcses) would probably mean you are not entitled to free uni in Scotland imo but can always check further eh.
Basiil17
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by kaitroxxx)