Doodle246
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi ,

I would like some advice on joining medical school .

I am a mature student who didn't do well in A-levels and now studying accounting . I would very much like to peruse the field of medicine but for that I most likely have to re-take my A-levels . From what I know universities don't really like re-takes , if you want to apply for medicine . So should I apply for foundation clinical course or re- take A-levels ( if that is a better option ) .It's just I don't want to waste time on re-doing A-levels which won't have much worth, considering being a mature student and re-taking on top .However , if there are any other pathways ( which I am not aware of) , to access medical school, please do share . Moreover , let me know any universities outside UK that are more acceptable of that scenario . Preferably in USA , Canada and Australia .

Thank you in advance and looking to hear for any advice and information
SmileyChap
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I'm unsure what you being a mature student has to do with anything. Either way, re-taken A-levels won't be looked down upon if you get straight A's.
By taking Biology and Chemistry, you'll get a guaranteed entree into the medical field, especially if you get good A-Levels and achieve highlight in the UKCAT.

You should research different Universities, ones with achievable A-level requirements, and analyse whether you want this career choice bad enough.

Dentistry and veterinary jobs fairly touch on medicine (more so dentistry), so you really have to sit down and acknowledge what you want to do with your like, and the extent of energy you're willing to put into your goals.

All the best
Captain127
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago