The Student Room Group
Students outside, University of Hertfordshire
University of Hertfordshire
Hatfield
Visit website

Exam results

I am a first year student? On one of my modules I got FREN , what does this mean? does it mean I am unable to go to second year?
Hey AP20,

I've done a quick search for you regarding the FREN result classification.

Sadly, this is what came up:

FREN Fail, re-enrol. The student has failed to meet the minimum pass criteria for the module and the Module Board will permit re-enrolment, either with or without reassessment of elements of the module that have already been assessed and passed. Re-enrolment is not available at any stage on repeating a module which has been passed, unless there are agreed extenuating circumstances.

It does look like you'll be able to re-enroll on the module however. I'd suggest discussing the result with your personal tutor or module leader to talk through what options you may have.

I've also found an archived thread on here with someone who had a similar situation to yourself, which I hope may help:

https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?t=3496857

All the best,

David
Students outside, University of Hertfordshire
University of Hertfordshire
Hatfield
Visit website
Reply 2
However does that mean I have repeat first year? again?
Reply 3
Does that mean i have to re-do first year again or just the module and go to second year?
Original post by David Trebus
Hey AP20,

I've done a quick search for you regarding the FREN result classification.

Sadly, this is what came up:

FREN Fail, re-enrol. The student has failed to meet the minimum pass criteria for the module and the Module Board will permit re-enrolment, either with or without reassessment of elements of the module that have already been assessed and passed. Re-enrolment is not available at any stage on repeating a module which has been passed, unless there are agreed extenuating circumstances.