The Student Room Group

Should I go to A&E for blood in urine?

Just as the title says, I just discovered blood in my urine, and was wondering whether I should go to A&E?

I am going on holiday on Sunday, and there are no GP appointments available before then. So would it be wise for me to go A&E now, or wait until I come back to see a GP?
Phone 111 and they will tell you what the best thing to do is :smile:
I'm not a doctor but I think you need to calm down. This isn't a matter for A&E.

Book with your GP for when you return from your holiday and try to get a cancellation appointment in the meantime if it's really worrying you.
Your GP should have emergency appointments.
Original post by Anonymous
Just as the title says, I just discovered blood in my urine, and was wondering whether I should go to A&E?

I am going on holiday on Sunday, and there are no GP appointments available before then. So would it be wise for me to go A&E now, or wait until I come back to see a GP?

Defo call 111 mate.
Reply 5
Definitely not A and E, that's for life threatening problems.
Happened to me before, had a kidney infection, just see a GP about it
Reply 6

Does IT hurt when you urinate?
A&E isn't an alternative to your GP.

As above - I'd call 111.
Not A&E but act quickly. If it is indeed a kidney infection, your GP will prescribe you an antibiotic treatment such as Erethromycin. If that does not work, you will have to book another appointment.

But yes, book an emergency appointment.

I would advise the hospital's GP or out of hours GP, if your local GP is fully booked up. I would also advise you don't delay, just because blood in urine can be serious in some cases.