The Student Room Group

Ask an Admissions Tutor XI - 13 June 23 June 2017

Hello All and welcome to another Ask an Admissions Tutor Thread which I've been running intermittently since 2013. Feel free to ask all and any questions about admissions to Cambridge generally and Murray Edwards College, one of Cambridge's three women's colleges, specifically.

I'll be here for the next ten days answering questions in advance of the University Open Days on 6 and 7 July. As many colleges do, we are running an Open Day at Murray Edwards to combine with the University Open Days. Ours is on the morning of 6 July (my birthday!) and you can book a place here which will allow you access to other events in Cambridge as well as the sessions at Murray Edwards.

Do please fire away with your questions. :smile:

Scroll to see replies

How has the removal of UMS in most AS subjects and introduction of the new admissions assessments impacted on decision making this year?
Original post by Forecast
How has the removal of UMS in most AS subjects and introduction of the new admissions assessments impacted on decision making this year?

Hello and thanks for your question. The new Admissions Assessments (AAs) have helped provide a data point for everyone, which has been useful in benchmarking everyone in this particular area. That said, it's important to stress that they are very new and we can't be entirely sure how useful the information they are telling us is, so it's fair to say that they have been used with caution by colleges.

A lot of candidates never had UMS in the past (in some subjects more than 50% of the applicant field before this year didn't have modular A Levels), so we've been used to dealing with candidates presenting with no UMS for a long time. A number of students have taken stand alone AS exams and those who did well in those public exams had that recognised as part of our overall assessment.