Will my GP give me the help I really need for depression?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi i have an appointment with my GP in a few days and I'm really worried they'll give me a generic "here's some antidepressants and a number for talking therapy" treatment. I feel as though the help I need is more severe than some mild antidepressants, and while I am definitely open and ready for talking therapy, I'm worried the response my GP will give will make me feel as though I've been overreacting over the severity of my mood. I've been avoiding treatment for 7 years because I always told myself I'd get over it, but the past year has been incredibly difficult and led to a lot of really negative coping mechanisms so I've decided now is the time to help in fear of me spiraling into a worse cycle of harm.

I think my question to anyone who's gone to their GP to start treatment: what kind of treatment did they offer you and did you feel as though it was the correct kind of treatment for the severity of your mental health? Or do you feel as if they threw you under an general umbrella with all other cases of depression people have come in for and not actually helped?
fxlloutboyy
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Depends how old you are.
Antidepressants and talking therapies are the only treatments for depression so this is what you should expect. You are unlikely to be given antidepressants on your first trip about it though.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Kindred
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Anonymous)