Is it possible to learn latin to A level standard in just one summer? Watch

YAH_BOY_ASH
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm in a tricky position, I want to learn Latin to A level standard before October so that I can study straight classics at Uni . I only have this summer to learn one of the languages to A level standard. I come from a science-y background and just self taught the whole of A level further maths in 3-4 months (taking exams for it now) soo would it be possible? Also if you could recommend any resources that will be great.
Quirky Object
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Do you speak any other languages (particularly European ones)?

It is possible if you work at it every day, and you seem like a pretty good autodidact. Keep in mind that there is a lot of grammar, a lot of vocab and a lot of tables (tenses, declensions, conjugations...) and if you want to take the actual A-level in Latin you'll need the literature component. Latin is one of those languages where if you know the rules a lot of it comes quite easily, though, with the notable exception of syntax (which can be an utter nightmare especially for native speakers of Germanic languages).

Get yourself a good reference grammar; John Taylor is the absolute God of Latin and I used his Essential GCSE Latin for my GCSE course, which despite being for GCSE is a pretty complete grammar book. For vocab, start with the Cambridge Latin Course lists and work your way up. There isn't that much additional grammar at A-level compared with GCSE, but it's worth getting the OCR-endorsed A-level book just for the extra little bits.

Good luck - Latin is a fantastically rewarding language, and feel free to ask if you need help with anything (I'm doing A-level)
jhgjhgg
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
caecillius est in horto

grumio est mortus

puella
artful_lounger
  • Community Assistant
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago