6 mark question about stars (physics) - how many marks is my response?

Watch
Traore
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
My response roughly.. don't judge me since I'm a dumb student:

A protonstar (I know it's protostar, mistake) is formed by dust reacting with gas under gravity. The star, a similar size to the sun, becomes a red giant and collapses under it's own gravity to form a white dwarf. The white dwarf then cools and loses it's brightness to become a black dwarf.

It doesn't seem like I've wrote enough for 6 marks.. maybe I missed part of the question or just forgot what I wrote..
GallyWix007
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Is that all you wrote for the 6 marker or is there more?
Ukvoltaire
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Traore)

A protonstar (I know it's protostar, mistake) is formed by dust reacting with gas under gravity. The star, a similar size to the sun, becomes a red giant and collapses under it's own gravity to form a white dwarf. The white dwarf then cools and loses it's brightness to become a black dwarf.

It doesn't seem like I've wrote enough for 6 marks.. maybe I missed part of the question or just forgot what I wrote..
You will probably get 3 marks, because you have described the cycle of star that has similar size to the Sun.

You develop, you should've talked about the cycle of a star bigger than a Sun. This is that it goes and becomes a supernova, which is an explosion and this leads onto a black hole or neutron star.

Something like that anyway. But I am sure you will get 3 marks for that question so don't worry.
username2805430
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Traore)

what was the question? is this P7?
Rarest
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Ukvoltaire)
You will probably get 3 marks, because you have described the cycle of star that has similar size to the Sun.