The Student Room Group

Non-RG University and the Bar

Hi all,

I am currently an undergrad at a non-RG university studying a LLB. I am currently well on track for a strong 1st. I had straight A's at GCSE but due to medical circumstances, my A Levels took a downward turn. I left school and went straight into work at a large global bank, working there for just shy of 3 years. I have plenty of other work on my CV but the bank probably has gotten me as far as I am today. There I received a Certificate in Retail Banking and Conduct of Business, an Apprenticeship in Banking and also have a CertHE of Accounting and Finance. I have plenty of sporting achievement (since before my EC's) and continue to volunteer my time throughout the year to support the sport and its community, something I have done since before my A Levels.

During my second year of the LLB, of which I have just completed, I worked for 6 months as a legal assistant and have been lucky enough to have been given a 4 month internship in the same firm in compliance. The firm is based in London and South Wales and I will be based in South Wales. I also have a mini-pupillage in Cardiff in a fortnight’s time. I will be striving to have the same kind of experiences (and more) in a year’s time.

I'm looking to study a masters and as much as I would like to get into Oxbridge, I fear that the finance will be too out of reach and so I will be applying to RG universities. (I will be applying to Oxbridge regardless; because stranger things have happened). This is purely for my own personal achievement rather than simply "adding to the CV" as it is genuinely something I have always wanted to do.