Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    hey people, i have a few questions about my legal career.

First of all, i would like to introduce myself, i am from Colombia, currently living there with my partner who is a British citizenship. I am a fully qualified Lawyer here and in my overseas LLB (5 years) i got a 3,6/5 grade, which according to the Uk Gov website is a 2.1 in the Uk. We're thinking about moving to london next year, so I decided to turn my colombian LLB into a Uk one.

I already know i have different paths to do it, one of it is do the QLTS exam, however, how my degree is based on a civil law system it might be really difficult to pass for me, for that reason I'm taking into account the GDL/LPC as the easiest route for me to become in a uk solicitor or at least be able to get a job over there.

I have legal experience in Colombia and also academic experience from argentina, where i studied 6 months abroad.

After my brief summary of my background i would like to ask

1. Which university would you recommend to take GDL courses?

2. Would it be helpful to hold a LLB from south america in the legal market plus my native language?

3. Can I apply to get a TC even if i'm currently not living in the Uk?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Ok this is tricky...

Firms are less likely to take you on for a TC if you are an experienced qualified lawyer. They will be concerned about you being over qualified to do a junior role for two years, and whether you will have any frustrations of doing more admin tasks compared to what you are doing now. Many would advise you to take the QLTS route instead.

It doesn't really matter where you study the GDL or LPC.