Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Will universities accept poor grades during clearing? Watch

ReputationRep:
    For example, I'm studying BTEC Level 3 Business and Psychology A-level. If I got D*D and an E in Psychology would these universities (Bedfordshire, Middlesex, UEL, West London, Birkberk etc) accept me with these grades to do BSc Psychology with a foundation year?

ReputationRep:
    There's no need to post 2 identical threads within 15 minutes...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by alow)
    There's no need to post 2 identical threads within 15 minutes...
    my bad I'm just really intrigued as I can't find the information elsewhere so want to know so badly.

ReputationRep:
    Your best bet is to call and ask the specific unis what grades they tend to accept through clearing. Unis do take lower grades through clearing but from what I understand it's usually 1-2 letter grades over the whole result max. It also depends a little on the year, if enough people apply through clearing with better grades than you the uni will take them instead. And they will sometimes have subjects they won't go low for as they're important so having a poor psychology grade might not look good when you're applying for a psychology course.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by doodle_333)
    Your best bet is to call and ask the specific unis what grades they tend to accept through clearing. Unis do take lower grades through clearing but from what I understand it's usually 1-2 letter grades over the whole result max. It also depends a little on the year, if enough people apply through clearing with better grades than you the uni will take them instead. And they will sometimes have subjects they won't go low for as they're important so having a poor psychology grade might not look good when you're applying for a psychology course.
    I'm going for a psychology with a foundation year which offer lower grades?

ReputationRep: