Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

Law Students: Presentation Help Please! Watch

ReputationRep:
    I have to do a presentation on an aspect of law. I have virtually no legal knowledge, other than the main areas of law - not being a law student, I could not go in to much depth!

I am however interested in studying law - and I need to give a presentation on something law related to 'demonstrate my interest in the subject' (Of course, I've done background reading but it's not the same as something like English where I might have a much greater knowledge)

So, does anyone have any really accessible areas/aspects of law I could do - maybe a case for example? Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    bump

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TomHibbs12)
    I have to do a presentation on an aspect of law. I have virtually no legal knowledge, other than the main areas of law - not being a law student, I could not go in to much depth!

I am however interested in studying law - and I need to give a presentation on something law related to 'demonstrate my interest in the subject' (Of course, I've done background reading but it's not the same as something like English where I might have a much greater knowledge)

So, does anyone have any really accessible areas/aspects of law I could do - maybe a case for example? Thanks.
    Hi ,

I just finished A Level law so I may be able to help you.

If I was you I'd look at an offence called gross negligent manslaughter, i.e. reckless manslaughter.

To be liable for an offence,

You must have a duty to care (duty to act)
    You must fall below (breach) what the average person would do, i.e. the reasonable man.
    You must then cause the death.
    Your breach must have caused a risk of death
    Your omission must have been gross.

This means If you light a fag and leave it burning and you fall asleep and people die your liable for their death through a charge of gross neigent manslaughter.