Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Distance Learning LLB Providers Watch

ReputationRep:
    I am interested in studying for a LLB via distance learning. I have come across many options with BPP University, Manchester Met and University of Central Lancashire (UCLAN) being my top choices.

I know Uni of Essex, UOL, Open, Nottingham Trent and Arden also have Distance Learning LLB programmes. Are any of you studying for the LLB via distance learning? How has your experience been?

Edited: I am an international student, from a British Overseas Territory. I am interested in becoming a barrister, but I am not interested in a training contract because is not necessary to become a lawyer in my country. Upon completion of a distance learning program, I hope to come to the UK do the BPTC and then be admitted to the bar in my country. I was thinking that doing my LLB with an institution that also offers the BPTC would be a good idea.

Nottingham Trent does seem like a good option, but I think BPP offers more support on their Distance Learning LLB programme.

ReputationRep:
    dont recommend doing an LLB from a non red brick university if youre wanting to practice as you will find it difficult to land a trainee contract !! however if u want to use it for something else id recommend nottingham
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    There are also level 7 Solicitor apprenticeships where you earn an LLB over 6 years while also completing the requirements for the LPC and TC, subject to a final exam. You will work in an actual law firm as a salaried apprentice trainee during this time as well, and the remuneration is quite generous (works out less generous in London due to living costs, although the salaries are higher to compensate). These are offered by a number of major City firms and also quite a few in the North and Midlands.