Join TSR now and chat with students like youSign up now

Can a University pay me for giving me false advice Watch

ReputationRep:
    Basically I'm an Russian student and I was given false immigration advice from Imperial college london, and now i'm demanding compensation.

If I fill out their complaint form and show them how i was lied to by their advisors, can i win my case and get the money i deserve?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Zacken)
    No.

/close thread
    Why not?

They gave me false advice about my immigration, and now i'm told that I have to pay for something that I was initally told I'm not going to.

I'll involve my lawyers if this is not seen through

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by AlwaysWithGod)
    Why not?

They gave me false advice about my immigration, and now i'm told that I have to pay for something that I was initally told I'm not going to.

I'll involve my lawyers if this is not seen through
    Yea, I think it best to consult your lawyers. They can tell you if you have a strong case or not, but bare in mind a university probably has a lot more money to spend on a case than you do, so weigh up if it is worth it first. But it doesn't hurt to complain, though I doubt they would just give you money outright, they would probably negotiate something else with you.
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    You should have done your own research instead of just relying on someone to tell you.

ReputationRep:
    I really don't think it will hold up in court, you could have easily looked for yourself.

You clearly have money, just pay the fee rather than wasting money on legal fees.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep: