emily569
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi, I am currently studying for my mocks which are in two weeks and I finished all my revision notes but I need help with bonds. I just get confused at which bonds I need to remember and where the occur e.g. Peptide bond between two amino acids makes a polypeptide.

So, can you please tell me all the bonds I need to know and where they occur
Thank you
S.G.
Badges: 22
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by emily569)
Hi, I am currently studying for my mocks which are in two weeks and I finished all my revision notes but I need help with bonds. I just get confused at which bonds I need to remember and where the occur e.g. Peptide bond between two amino acids makes a polypeptide.

So, can you please tell me all the bonds I need to know and where they occur
Thank you
Ester bonds in triglycerides
Hydrogen bonds with DNA bases
Phosphodiester bonds for sugar phosphate backbone in DNA nucleotides
Peptide bonds in proteins
Glycosidic bonds between monosaccharides
Also you've got disulphides bridges, ionic, covalent bonds between R groups in tertiary structure of proteins.
Kallisto
Rep:
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by SGHD26716)
Also you've got disulphides bridges, ionic, covalent bonds between R groups in tertiary structure of proteins.
Awesome, but what about the polymere bonds of the synthetic materials? did you not count them, as they don't occur in nature?
S.G.
Rep:
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by Kallisto)
Awesome, but what about the polymere bonds of the synthetic materials? did you not counte them, as they don't occur in nature?
I've just finished OCR biology a level and this is what I was taught.

Do you mean polyamides and polyesters?
emily569
Badges: 3