deciding what degree to study Watch

raspberry ripple
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hey guys! I am currently studying Marine Biology at university and am just about to go into my second year. I did however start off at university studying Geography, as that was my favourite subject at school. However, I recently decided to change as I have always had a passion for marine life. I am a scuba diver and have enjoyed taking part in beach cleans and conservation events. Hence why I decided to change. Although, I am worried that I have made the wrong decision. The reason for this is becuase I still love Geography, and am not exactly sure specifically what aspect of marine biology I enjoy. In second year I have to study genes and molecular biology. However, this is not what I am interested in. I would love to do something regarding conservation work or plastics in the ocean or even to do with global warming. However, I would not enjoy working in a lab. A part of me feels I should do Geography because I was good at it at school and would be interested in becoming an environment consultant or even a teacher. But I have to decide in second year whether I want to do Human or physical Geography, and I enjoy parts of both. This is what put me off doing Geography. I also felt I should go with my marine instinct. So at the moment I am worried if i have made the right decision to stick with marine biology. As i am concerned that I am going into second year, and it is too late, if i did say, want to change back to Geography. Equally there are aspects to both that i do and don't enjoy, however I cant decide what I will enjoy most as a job. I feel like conservation work with turtles is an unrealistic job. And perhaps I could have a degree in Geography and still be able to do something regarding conservation with the marine environment? If anyone thinks they could give advice i would appreciate that very much
ByEeek
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago